In which we got a little overzealous with the events

I thought about writing this newsletter as if nothing is happening in my life, but that seems superficial and honestly? It's a little hard for me to pretend life is going on as normal.  On Tuesday, Jordan and I had to bury our sweet dog Junie B. She moved with us to Thomasville almost four years ago, and she's been such a big part of our married life together. It was a heart-breaking decision, and in the middle of our grief, my grandmother had a debilitating stroke, sending her into her final days.  Needless to say, life has been a blur, and I've been reminded how important books are when we're facing life's difficult moments. Each night, I've gone to bed worried and anxious, so I've turned to fiction before I turn out the lights. Those few minutes of reading have helped calm my spirit; they're a brief escape when the world seems overwhelming. This week, we're bringing you two opportunities to celebrate the power of books and the light they bring to trying times. Tonight, we're hosting columnist and television host Gary Yordon, author of Driving the Road of Life with a Flat Tire. That title alone should have you laughing, but if not, Gary should do the trick. He's entertaining and personable, and his book of humorous essays would make for excellent summer vacation reading. (Fans of Dave Barry, Gary Yordon is probably for you.)  Then tomorrow night, we're staying open late for downtown Thomasville's First Friday, and we're partnering with Tall Timbers Research Station to host FSU biology professor Bruce Means. Bruce is the author of Diamonds in the Rough, a history of the diamondback rattlesnake. If you're interested in local ecology and snakes in our area, Bruce is the man for you.  (As an aside, both of the books at the center of this week's events would make perfect Father's Day gifts, in case you're already on the hunt.)  I'm so proud to bring you these fantastic literary events this week, even in the middle of my own life's chaos. Books and literature and the joy they provide are so important to helping us handle grief and loss well. I hope we'll see you in the shop over the next couple of days. --- SHELF TALK + SIGNING WITH GARY YORDON Tonight (6/1) at 7 p.m. Free and open to the public For fans of Dave Barry BOOK SIGNING WITH BRUCE MEANS This Friday night (6/2) at 6 p.m. Free and open to the public For fans of Joe Hutto

I thought about writing this newsletter as if nothing is happening in my life, but that seems superficial and honestly? It's a little hard for me to pretend life is going on as normal. 

On Tuesday, Jordan and I had to bury our sweet dog Junie B. She moved with us to Thomasville almost four years ago, and she's been such a big part of our married life together. It was a heart-breaking decision, and in the middle of our grief, my grandmother had a debilitating stroke, sending her into her final days. 

Needless to say, life has been a blur, and I've been reminded how important books are when we're facing life's difficult moments. Each night, I've gone to bed worried and anxious, so I've turned to fiction before I turn out the lights. Those few minutes of reading have helped calm my spirit; they're a brief escape when the world seems overwhelming.

This week, we're bringing you two opportunities to celebrate the power of books and the light they bring to trying times. Tonight, we're hosting columnist and television host Gary Yordon, author of Driving the Road of Life with a Flat Tire. That title alone should have you laughing, but if not, Gary should do the trick. He's entertaining and personable, and his book of humorous essays would make for excellent summer vacation reading. (Fans of Dave Barry, Gary Yordon is probably for you.) 

Then tomorrow night, we're staying open late for downtown Thomasville's First Friday, and we're partnering with Tall Timbers Research Station to host FSU biology professor Bruce Means. Bruce is the author of Diamonds in the Rough, a history of the diamondback rattlesnake. If you're interested in local ecology and snakes in our area, Bruce is the man for you. 

(As an aside, both of the books at the center of this week's events would make perfect Father's Day gifts, in case you're already on the hunt.) 

I'm so proud to bring you these fantastic literary events this week, even in the middle of my own life's chaos. Books and literature and the joy they provide are so important to helping us handle grief and loss well. I hope we'll see you in the shop over the next couple of days.
---

SHELF TALK + SIGNING WITH GARY YORDON
Tonight (6/1) at 7 p.m.
Free and open to the public
For fans of Dave Barry

BOOK SIGNING WITH BRUCE MEANS
This Friday night (6/2) at 6 p.m.
Free and open to the public
For fans of Joe Hutto

+ Shelf Talk + Signing w/ columnist Gary Yordon - Thursday, 6/1, 7 p.m. + First Friday book signing w/ Bruce Means - Friday, 6/2, 6 p.m. + Book signing w/ Jeff Vandermeer - Saturday, 6/10, 2 p.m. + Summer Reading Extravaganza - Thursday, 6/15, 7 p.m. + Story Time at the Amphitheater, Tuesday, 6/27, 12 p.m. + Ladies' Drawing Night w/ Janae Easton - Thursday, 6/29, 6 p.m. + Shelf Talk + Signing w/ Kathy Bradley - Friday, 6/30, 7 p.m.

Shelf Talk + Signing w/ columnist Gary Yordon - Thursday, 6/1, 7 p.m.
+ First Friday book signing w/ Bruce Means - Friday, 6/2, 6 p.m.
Book signing w/ Jeff Vandermeer - Saturday, 6/10, 2 p.m.
Summer Reading Extravaganza - Thursday, 6/15, 7 p.m.
Story Time at the Amphitheater, Tuesday, 6/27, 12 p.m.
+ Ladies' Drawing Night w/ Janae Easton - Thursday, 6/29, 6 p.m.
Shelf Talk + Signing w/ Kathy Bradley - Friday, 6/30, 7 p.m.

I don't read a ton of young adult literature, but I'm admittedly more drawn to the genre during the summer, when the humidity has squelched all of my energy and I find myself drawn to lighter themes. This means that I'm attracted to a very certain kind of YA literature: The romantic comedy. (See: Dumplin' by Julie Murphy.)

When I saw Windfall recommended all over the Internet, I thought I'd give it a try, and I'm glad I did. Alice has secretly been in love with her best friend Teddy for years. When his 18th birthday rolls around, Alice gifts him a lottery ticket as a joke, but then he wins $140 million. Windfall is all about getting what you want and discovering what it all means. It's light and fun, with serious vacation potential. 

This week, Chris and I recapped the books we read in May, including Sheryl Sandberg's Option B and my favorite new release, Standard Deviation. I also detailed my first-ever foray into comic books, per Chris's recommendation. Find full episodes of From the Front Porch here or on iTunes. 

This week, Chris and I recapped the books we read in May, including Sheryl Sandberg's Option B and my favorite new release, Standard Deviation. I also detailed my first-ever foray into comic books, per Chris's recommendation. Find full episodes of From the Front Porch here or on iTunes. 

-Annie