Mon-Sat 10AM-6PM | +229-228-7767 | 126 S. Broad Street, Thomasville, GA 31792

     

Invisible Boy


By: mooney, harrison

"An unforgettable coming-of-age memoir about a Black boy adopted into a white, Christian fundamentalist family. As an adopted and homeschooled Black boy with ADHD at white fundamentalist Christian churches and tent revivals, Mooney was raised amid a swirl of conflicting and confusing messages and beliefs. Within that radical and racist right-wing bubble along the U.S the in Canada's Bible Belt, Harrison was desperate to belong and to be visible to those around him. But before ultimately finding his own path, Harrison must first come to understand that the forces at work in his life were not supernatural, but the same trauma and systemic violence that has terrorized Black families for generations. Reconnecting with his birth mother--and understanding her journey--leads Harrison to a new connection with himself: the eyes looking down were my true mother's eyes, and the face was my true mother's face, and for the first time in my life, I saw that I was beautiful."--

Audience Type:Adults

Publisher:STEERFORTH PRESS / TRUTH TO POWER

View more from: STEERFORTH PRESS / TRUTH TO POWER
More Books Written By Author: mooney, harrison

Publish Date: 09/20/2022

Binding:Paperback

availability: In stock

An unforgettable coming-of-age memoir about a Black boy adopted into a white, Christian fundamentalist family

Perfect for fans of Educated, Punch Me Up to the Gods, and Surviving the White Gaze

"An affecting portrait of life inside the twin prisons of racism and unbending orthodoxy." --Kirkus Reviews

A powerful, experiential journey from white cult to Black consciousness: Harrison Mooney's riveting story of self-discovery lifts the curtain on the trauma of transracial adoption and the internalized antiblackness at the heart of the white evangelical Christian movement.

Inspired by Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man the same way Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me was inspired by James Baldwin, Harrison Mooney's debut memoir will captivate readers with his powerful gift for storytelling, his keen eye for insight and observation, and his wry sense of humor.

As an adopted and homeschooled Black boy with ADHD at white fundamentalist Christian churches and tent revivals, Mooney was raised amid a swirl of conflicting and confusing messages and beliefs. Within that radical and racist right-wing bubble along the U.S. border in Canada's Bible Belt, Harrison was desperate to belong and to be visible to those around him.

But before ultimately finding his own path, Harrison must first come to understand that the forces at work in his life were not supernatural, but the same trauma and systemic violence that has terrorized Black families for generations. Reconnecting with his birth mother--and understanding her journey--leads Harrison to a new connection with himself: the eyes looking down were my true mother's eyes, and the face was my true mother's face, and for the first time in my life, I saw that I was beautiful.

Publisher: Steerforth Press / Truth to Power
Published Date: 09/20/2022
Binding: Paperback
Audience Type: Adults
Language: English
Pages: 336
Dimensions: Length: 8.40, Width: 5.40, Height: 0.90
Weight: 0.75